(GOODYEAR, Ariz.) – The Cleveland Indians Opening Day roster is set.

The Tribe finalized its 25-man roster on Wednesday informing RHP Carlos Carrasco that he locked down the final spot in the starting pitching rotation, while optioning RHP Josh Tomlin to Triple-A Columbus.

The Indians also announced that right-handers Scott Atchison and Blake Wood locked down the final two spots in the club’s bullpen.

Filling these final three roster spots completes the Indians 25-man roster for Opening Day, March 31 in Oakland.

Despite veteran slugger Jason Giambi opening the season on the DL (non-displaced rib fracture), he will still travel with the Indians for their opening series against the Athletics. Michael Bourn will open the 2014 season on the DL (hamstring) also, however it is unclear if he will travel to Oakland with the club.

Pitching match ups have been set already for the Tribe’s opening series. They’ll look like this:

Monday, March 31 – RHP Justin Masterson vs. RHP Sonny Gray

Tuesday, April 1 – RHP Corey Kluber vs. LHP Scott Kazmir

Wednesday, April 2 – RHP Zach McAllister vs. RHP Jesse Chavez

Salazar is expected to start the Tribe’s home opener against the Minnesota Twins on Friday, April 4 at Progressive Field.

Here’s what the Indians Opening Day roster will look like:


Starting pitchers:

RHP Justin Masterson

RHP Corey Kluber

RHP Zach McAllister

RHP Danny Salazar

RHP Carlos Carrasco


Position players:

Asdrubal Cabrera SS

Nick Swisher 1B

Jason Kipnis 2B

Carlos Santana 3B/C

Yan Gomes C

Michael Brantley OF

David Murphy OF

Nyjer Morgan OF



RHP John Axford

RHP Cody Allen

LHP Marc Rzepczynski

LHP Josh Outman

RHP Bryan Shaw

RHP Scott Atchison

RHP Blake Wood

RHP Vinnie Pestano



INF/OF Mike Aviles

INF/OF Ryan Raburn

INF Lonnie Chisenhall

INF/OF Elliot Johnson



OF Michael Bourn

DH Jason Giambi


The Indians open the 2014 season March 31 in Oakland, first pitch is slated for 10:05 pm ET. The Tribe’s home opener is April 4, when they host the Minnesota Twins for a three-game weekend series.

- Nick Camino